Applications to the Fund are granted by a Board of Trustees. The Trustees meet three times a year to consider applications for grants. The meetings are usually held in March, June and November each year.


Chair of Trustees
Mrs S J Marriott, BA (Hons), Dip Law, TEP, Notary Public

Suzanne is a private client partner and Notary Public at law firm Charles Russell Speechlys LLP in London. She specialises in mental capacity, Court of Protection work, wills, probate, charitable and private trusts and tax planning. Suzanne acts as a Trustee, Executor, Deputy and Attorney and is the chair trustee of the Baily Thomas Charitable Fund. She also sits on the Baily Thomas Charitable Fund Investment Committee.

Mr K R Young, FCA

Ken is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and is a partner at Azets. He has a personal interest and specialises in the not for profit sector and acted as Chairman of Governors of the Royal Russell school for 11 years and a past Chair of the Textile Industry Children’s Trust. Ken sits on the Baily Thomas Charitable Fund Investment Committee.

Emeritus Professor S-A Cooper, OBE, BSc, MBBS, MD, FRCPsych

Sally-Ann is Emeritus Professor of Learning Disabilities at the University of Glasgow and Honorary Consultant Psychiatrist at NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde. She has published extensively on the epidemiology of health and health inequalities in people with intellectual disabilities, and trials of complex interventions to improve their health. Anna sits on the Baily Thomas Charitable Fund Research Committee.

Professor Angela Hassiotis, MA, PhD, FRCPsych

Angela Hassiotis is Professor of the Psychiatry of  Intellectual disability at the UCL Division of Psychiatry and honorary Consultant Psychiatrist at the award winning Camden Intellectual Disability Service.
Her main research interest is the evaluation of interventions for mental illhealth including behaviours of concern in people with intellectual disabilities across the lifespan. She has run several clinical trials and epidemiological studies and has authored over 300 publications comprising original research, opinion pieces, book chapters, and an edited book on psychiatric aspects of intellectual disability.  She supervises MSc and PhD students and lectures nationally and internationally. She has received the NADD Stephen Reiss Research Award (2020) and the Frank Menolascino Award for Excellence (2023).  She is the Editor-In-Chief of the Journal of Mental Health Research in Intellectual Disabilities. Angela sits on the Baily Thomas Charitable Fund Research Committee.

Mr J Snow, BSc (Hons), ASIP

Jonathan is an investment director at Schroders in London, and has 25 years’ experience in the investment industry. He has a personal interest in the area of learning disabilities with autism, and joined the Fund’s panel of Trustees in 2015. Jonathan sits on the Baily Thomas Charitable Fund Investment Committee.